Members

 

Last Name First Name College Department CHHE Affiliation Phone Fax Email
Adler Kenneth CVM Dept. of Molecular Biomedical Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-1348 919-515-4237 kbadler@ncsu.edu
Anholt Robert COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-1173 919-515-5327 anholt@ncsu.edu
Aylor David COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-7079 dlaylor@ncsu.edu
Bensen Jeanette UNC-CH Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center Member, Human Population Science Team 919-843-1017 jbensen@med.unc.edu
Bereman Michael COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Director, Proteomics/Bioanalytical Facility Core and Member, Human Population Science Team 919-515-8520 msberema@ncsu.edu
Bonner James COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Leader, Pilot Project Program and Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-8615 919-515-7169 james_bonner@ncsu.edu
Breen Matthew CVM Dept. of Molecular Biomedical Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-1467 919-513-7301 matthew_breen@ncsu.edu
Brewer Kori ECU – Brody School of Medicine Dept. of Emergency Medicine Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 252-744-2159 252-744-3589 brewerk@ecu.edu
Buchwalter David COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-1129 919-515-7169 david_buchwalter@ncsu.edu
Collier David ECU – Brody School of Medicine Department of Pediatrics Member and Liaison, Integrative Health Science Facility Core and Member, Human Population Science Team 252-744-3297 collierd@ecu.edu
Collier Galen COS Bioinformatics Research Center Member, Bioinformatics Team gecollie@ncsu.edu
Cope W. Gregory CALS Dept. of Applied Ecology Director, Community Outreach and Engagement Core (COEC) 919-515-5296 919-515-5327 greg_cope@ncsu.edu
Cowley Michael COS Dept of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-0818 919-515-7169 macowley@ncsu.edu
DeWitt Jamie ECU – Brody School of Medicine Dept. Pharmacology and Toxicology Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 252-744-2474 dewittj@ecu.edu
Dorman David CVM Dept. of Molecular Biomedical Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-6237 919-513-6465 david_dorman@ncsu.edu
Dunn Rob UNC CH Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Human Population Science Team 919-513-7569 919-515-7959 rob_dunn@ncsu.edu
Frey Christopher College of Engineering Dept. of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering Member, Human Population Science Team 919-515-1155 919-515-7908 frey@ncsu.edu
Fuentes Montserrat COS Dept. of Statistics Member, Human Population Science Team 919-515-0610 919-515-7591 fuentes@ncsu.edu
Gannon Travis CALS Crop Science Member, Human Population Science Team 919-513-4655 twgannon@ncsu.edu 
Ghashghaei Troy CVM Dept. of Molecular Biomedical Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-6174 919-513-6465 troy_ghashghaei@ncsu.edu
Godwin John COS Dept. Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-2936 919-515-5327 john_godwin@ncsu.edu
Gowdy Kymberly ECU – Brody School of Medicne Dept. of Pharmacology and Toxicology Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 252-744-0334 gowdyk14@ecu.edu
Hall Jonathan COS Dept. Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-2345 jrhall@ncsu.edu
Haugh Jason College of Engineering Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-3851 919-515-3465 jason_haugh@ncsu.edu
Hesterberg Dean CALS Dept. of Soil Science Member, Human Population Science Team 919-513-3035 919-515-2167 dean_hesterberg@ncsu.edu
Hoppin Jane COS Dept. Biological Sciences Deputy Director CHHE and Team Leader, Human Population Science Team 919-515-2918 919-515-7169 jahoppin@ncsu.edu
Horowitz Jonathan CVM Dept. of Molecular Biomedical Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-4479 919-513-7301 jon_horowitz@ncsu.edu
Hoyo Catherine COS Dept. Biological Sciences Co-Director, Integrative Health Sciences Facility Core and Member, Human Population Science Team 919-515-0540 919-515-7169 choyo@ncsu.edu
Jirtle Randy COS Dept. Biological Science Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team rljirtle@ncsu.edu
Kearney Gregory ECU – Brody School of Medicine Dept. of Public Health Member, Human Population Science Team 252-744-4039 kearneyg@ecu.edu
Kullman Seth COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-4378 swkullma@ncsu.edu
Langley Ricky NC Dept. of Health and Human Services Occupational and Environmental Health, Epidemiology Branch Member and Liaison, Integrative Health Sciences Facility Core and Member, Human Population Science Team 919-707-5913 919-733-9555 rick.langley@dhhs.nc.gov
Lea C. Suzanne ECU-Brody School of Medicine Dept. of Public Health Member, Human Population Science Team 252-744-4036 LeaC@ecu.edu
LeBlanc Gerald COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-7404 919-515-7169 gerald_leblanc@ncsu.edu
LePrevost Catherine CALS Dept. of Applied Ecology Director, Community Outreach and Engagement Core (COEC) 919-515-2276 919-515-5327 celeprev@ncsu.edu
Linder Keith CVM Dept. of Population Health and Pathobiology Director, Pathobiology Facility Core and Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-6257 919-513-6464 keith_linder@ncsu.edu
Mackay Trudy COS Dept. Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-5810 919-515-5810 trudy_mackay@ncsu.edu
Maity Arnab COS Dept. of Statistics Member, Bioinformatics Team arnab_maity@ncsu.edu
Mattingly Carolyn COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Co-Director, Integrative Health Sciences Facility Core and Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-1509 cjmattin@ncsu.edu
McCoy Krista ECU- Brody School of Medicine Dept. Pharmacology and Toxicology Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 252-737-2730 252-328-4178 mccoyk@ecu.edu
McCulloch Scott COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-1214 919-515-7169 scott_mcculloch@ncsu.edu
McGahan Chris CVM Dept. of Molecular and Biomedical Sciences Director, Career Development Core and Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-6422 919-513-7301 chris_mcgahan@ncsu.edu
Meentemeyer Ross CNR Dept .of Forestry and Environmental Resources Member, Human Population Science Team ross_meentemeyer@ncsu.edu
Meitzen John COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-4496 jemeitze@ncsu.edu
Mitra Siddhartha ECU Dept. of Geological Sciences Member, Human Population Science Team 252-328-6611 mitras@ecu.edu
Motsinger-Reif Allison COS Dept. of Statistics and Bioinformatic Research Center Member, Bioinformatics Team 919-515-3574 aamotsin@ncsu.edu
Ninomiya-Tsuji Jun COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-1586 919-515-7169 jun_tsuji@ncsu.edu
Patisaul Heather COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Team Leader, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-7567 hbpatisa@ncsu.edu
Planchart Antonio COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-2530 ajplanch@ncsu.edu
Polizzotto Matthew CALS Dept. of Soil Sciences Member, Human Population Science Team 919-515-2040 919-515-2167 matt_polizzotto@ncsu.edu
Reich Brian COS Dept. of Statistics Member, Bioinformatics Team 919-513-7686 brian_reich@ncsu.edu
Reif David COS Dept. of Biological Sciences and Bioinformatics Research Center Team Leader, Bioinformatics Team 919-513-3812 dmreif@ncsu.edu
Richardson Ricardo NCCU Cancer Research Program Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-530-6421 919-530-7780 mrrichardson@nccu.edu
Rissman Emilie COS Dept. Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team efrissma@ncsu.edu
Rodriguez-Puebla Marcelo CVM Dept. of Molecular Biomedical Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-7409 919-515-4237 marcelo_rodriguez-puebla@ncsu.edu
Samatova Nagiza College of Engineering Dept. of Computer Science Member, Bioinformatics Team 919-513-7575 919-515-7896 samatova@csc.ncsu.edu
Sannes Philip CVM Dept. of Molecular Biomedical Sciences Team Leader, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-7656 919-515-4237 philip_sannes@ncsu.edu
Schal Coby CALS Dept. of Entomology Member, Human Population Science Team 919-515-1821 919-515-7746 coby_schal@ncsu.edu
Shive Heather CVM Dept. of Population Health and Pathobiology Associate Director, Pathobiology Facility Core and Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-6296 hrshive@ncsu.edu
Skaar David COS Dept. Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-3136 daskaar@unity.ncsu.edu
Smart Rob COS Dept. of Biological Sciences Director, CHHE and Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-7245 919-515-7169 rcsmart@ncsu.edu
Storm Julia CALS Dept. of Applied Ecology Associate Director, Community Outreach and Engagement Core (COEC) 919-515-7961 919-515-5327 julia_storm@ncsu.edu
Sumner Susan RTI Director, Systems and Translational Sciences Member, Internal Advisory Committee 919-541-7479 ssumner@rti.org
Thakur Siddhartha CVM Dept. of Population Health and Pathobiology Member, Human Population Science Team 919-513-0729 919-513-3044 sthakur@ncsu.edu
Tsuji Yoshiaki CALS Dept. of Biological Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-513-1106 919-515-7169 yoshiaki_tsuji@ncsu.edu
Tzeng Jung-Ying COS Dept. of Statistics and Bioinformatics Research Center Member, Bioinformatics Team 919-513-2723 919-515-7315 jytzeng@stat.ncsu.edu
Vinueza Nelson College of Textiles Dept. of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science Member, Human Population Science Team nrvinuez@ncsu.edu
Wang Hong COS Dept. of Physics Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team hong_wang@ncsu.edu
Wright Fred COS Dept. of Statistics and Bioinformatics Research Center Member, Associate Director, Bioinformatics Team 919-515-9060 919-515-7315 fred_wright@ncsu.edu
Yoder Jeffery CVM Dept. of Molecular Biomedical Sciences Member, Molecular/Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team 919-515-7406 919-513-7301 jeff_yoder@ncsu.edu

Criteria for Center Membership

New members may be self-nominated or recommended by existing members.

Criteria for Center Membership

The criteria for Full Membership in the Center are: i) current NIEHS and/or other extramural funding status (i.e. is an established investigator or has the potential for funding if a junior investigator); ii) relevance of the individual’s research program to EHS; and iii) potential for collaborative interactions with existing Center members to enhance ongoing or facilitate new EHS research activities. Postdocs with interests in EHS can apply for Associate Membership in the Center.

The Internal Advisory Committee (IAC) will vote on the appointment of new nominees (self-nomination included) as well as the reappointment of existing members. The initial appointment to CHHE membership will be for a term of three years. Prospective CHHE members must demonstrate a commitment to the goals of the CHHE and will be expected to participate on one of the Research Teams. Member candidates will provide a CV and a letter documenting their interest in membership. These documents will be provided to the IAC at least two weeks before voting. The IAC will discuss and vote on all applications for membership. A simple majority vote in favor of membership will be required to accept the applicant for CHHE membership. Applicants accepted for membership will receive an email from the Center Director welcoming them to CHHE.  Applicants receiving unfavorable votes will receive an email from the Center Director with reasons for the vote. The applicant will be provided an opportunity to provide a rebuttal that will then be considered at the next IAC meeting. A second unfavorable vote will require the member candidate waiting one year before re-applying with the expectation that during that year, they will demonstrate increased activities consistent with Center membership. The expectations for junior member candidates will be more modest than established investigators, and based more on potential for interactions and a future in EHS research.

Evaluation for Reappointment

Near the end of each three-year term of membership, each Member will be evaluated by the IAC for renewal of membership for another three-year term. The member will provide an activity report describing their involvement in CHHE and their current and pending grant information.   In assessing reappointment, the IAC will take in consideration the member’s participation in Center activities including Research Teams, IHSFC, COEC, collaborative activities, use of Core Facilities and citation of the Center grant in research publications that utilize Center resources. Members will be evaluated for reappointment by the IAC.  Part of one IAC meeting annually will be devoted to evaluation of members.  The process will proceed as follows: a) preliminary evaluation of member’s activities and suitability for continued membership in the Center will be made by the Director and Deputy Director based upon the activity report of the member; b) members obviously meeting the stated expectations of membership will be reappointed; and c) any member who is not obviously meeting requirements for continued membership will be brought to the IAC for full consideration. The activity reports of members under full IAC consideration will be circulated to all IAC members at least two weeks before the meeting. At the meeting, the Center Director will lead a discussion of the member’s continued interest and involvement in the Center, with special input from the Research Team Leader that the member is associated with. The IAC will then vote and a simple majority vote in favor of continued membership will be required to renew membership of the individual in question. The Center Director will provide a report of concerns to the members who were discussed at the quarterly IAC meeting with expectations for continued membership. Those members not receiving a favorable vote will be notified with reasons why and be provided an opportunity to provide a rebuttal for consideration at the next IAC meeting before being removed from Center membership. A second unfavorable vote by the IAC will be required to remove an individual from Center membership. If his/her situation changes, the investigator can re-apply for membership at a future date.

 

 

NC State Branding Bar